Pixetera

Photography and art making as play.

Category: holidays

Wednesday, October 31, 2018: Happy Halloween

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Wednesday, July 4, 2018: Independence Day

(Click on image to enlarge.)

Tuesday, February 20, 2018: Year of the Dog

(Click on image to enlarge.)

Wednesday, February 14, 2018: A Valentine Sampler

(Click on images to enlarge.)

The bottom picture is an inverted mashup composed of details from a Valentine’s Day mural created by nursing home residents and their aides. The former were given heart-decorated, red Post-it notes on which to write the names of people, pets or animals, places, things, activities, food, music, etc. that they loved. The notes were then transferred to a sheet of white sign paper 4′ wide and approximately 20′ long, and further embellished with additional hearts, other graphic elements, and personal messages.

A more detailed account is here.

 

Monday, January 15, 2018: Martin Luther King Jr. Day

(Click on image to enlarge.)

Sunday, December 24, 2017: Season’s Greetings

(Click on image to enlarge.)

Friday, December 22, 2017: Holiday Lights

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Thursday, December 21, 2017: Christmas Preview

(Click on image to enlarge.)

Monday, December 4, 2017: Patchy Fog

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Saturday, November 11, 2017: Veterans Day

In honor of American veterans, and wishing that sometime before this century ends, no country might even need a military.

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Credits:

World War II, Robert Capa

Korean War, Douglas Duncan

Vietnam War, Larry Burrows

Iraq War, Lucien Read

Afghanistan War, Lynsey Addario

 

Pixetera

Photography and art making as play.