Pixetera

Photography and art making as play.

Tag: mashups

Sunday, May 30, 2021

When my anti-selfie “Man with Some Issues,” came back from the museum where it had been hanging for three months, I couldn’t help but notice how beautifully and carefully it was packed. It was almost as if the wrapping itself was an attempt to comfort its subject. When I told the curator that whoever was responsible deserved his or her own gallery show of similar pieces, she told me his name was Kris Ludwig, Exhibit Services Manager and lead preparator.

Practically speaking, I was also impressed with the sticky, purplish tape Kris used that I had never seen before. It was easy to peel off and left no residue. He made that task even easier by folding the tape a bit back upon itself at one end so it didn’t have to be pried off the packing material.

Once my photograph was unwrapped, I started playing with lengths of the repurposed tape. The composite images below owe their vibrant colors to Photoshop’s blending and inversion options.

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Friday, March 12, 2021

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Tuesday, February 2, 2021

(Click on images to enlarge.)

 

Sunday, January 24, 2021: And Now, Back to our Regularly Scheduled Programming

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Monday, December 14, 2020

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Sunday, October 26, 2020

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Monday, October 12, 2020: Utility Markers Mishmash

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Saturday, August 1, 2020: Car Wash Hallucinations

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Sunday, July 12, 2020

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Tuesday, June 16, 2020: At the Car Wash

(Click on images to enlarge.)

Pixetera

Photography and art making as play.